One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Orcas Island………

In 2008 the wife and I stayed on Orcas Island in the San Juan archipelago off the coast of washington st. It was gorgeous and laid back and while we were there we visited the Orcas Island Pottery shop and it was awesome.

Check out below  the classic Northwest native carving of a whale on the side of the building. The connection between the carvings and mythology are really inspiring.

Check out this treehouse on the same property.

7 comments on “Orcas Island………

  1. James Noles
    January 28, 2014

    One of my dreams is to build a treehouse. If you build it he will come..

    Field of Dreams

    PS: not sure who he is..but.

  2. TOHNER JACKSON
    January 28, 2014

    Yea man ,living Swiss family Robinson style is the life for me…

  3. Crystal Jackson
    January 28, 2014

    If you build a treehouse, James will come.

  4. Trailer Park Cyclist
    January 31, 2014

    Tohner, you have been putting out so much good stuff lately I haven’t had time to craft a worthy comment, although I may do some retro-jacking this weekend. Developments at work have me putting together not one but two small crews for the 2014 building season. Not what I had in mind for the year but it fits with my plans to buy a couple rural acres here on the Florida East Coast and now for some reason I am thinking about some kind of boondocks retreat in the hills above Monterey.

    Meanwhile, I have taken the liberty of posting a link to my own tree house story. I hope you don’t mind…

    tj

    http://trailerparkcyclist.blogspot.com/2012/03/tree-house.html

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      February 6, 2014

      Looking forward to a blog- jacking. I remember that tree house post it’s a really good one. It’s a strange feeling re visiting places you built in another life especially when it involves taking it down. Sometimes I think people forget how much emotion goes into building things by those that build it.
      Keep truckin-
      Until we blog again- tohner

  5. Gretchen O'Donnell
    February 4, 2014

    I grew up on Orcas! I’m so glad you enjoyed your time there. If you’re interested I blog about it fairly often, including this one about Orcas Island Pottey! http://afinedayforanepiphany.wordpress.com/?s=orcas+island+pottery&submit=Search

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      February 4, 2014

      Awesome! What a magical place Orcas is. I’m on my way over to your blog to check it out. Thanks !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
wordpress stats plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers