One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Longleaf Pine wall cabinet and new tools

Gluing the back panel together and cutting out curved face frame:

Spent some time straightening and putting a clean edge on some boards that were pulled out of an old Texas farm house several years ago we were working on. They were covered in paint and nails and headed for the dumpster so I took them home removed all the nails and ran them through the planer. Longleaf is a pain in the ass to work with, the hardened resin in the wood really is rough on blades. Also the woods fibers make it real difficult to get a clean edge so that it is tear-out free. But the golden patina that this wood has is difficult to impossible to find in any other wood species. After cutting the curved face frame of the cabinet the edge of it looked like a beaver with a chipped tooth got ahold of it ,so I stuck a flush cut router bit in (my new Bosch router table that I bought specifically for trailer because its so compact) and screwed my template on the back of face frame to get a cleaner edge. Still not there, so next step will be clamping the face frame together and running it along a belt sander to remove any inconsistencies (hopeful). My wife for my birthday in (March) bought me a Porter Cable portable table saw with stand and wheels also specifically for my mobile shop/Zendo. I’m really pleased so far it has an impressive 30″ rip to right of blade and the fence does a nice job at staying parallel to the blade. It takes a little while getting used to the direct drive when all of our table saws at work have always been belt driven. My parents (also for my birthday)gave me an awesome kalamazoo belt sander which I am going to use to build knifes to grind and shape the blades and handles. I have only played around on it so far but I’m floored of how quickly I can remove material with it. Best of all made in U.S.A. Also in the picture below of the back panel I glued up you will see below it a work table (thanks sis)made by Keter that folds down flat to 4″. It has clamps sort of built in that can very easily be made to be an extra set of hands to hold work. Perfectly space efficient and simple to use I read the reviews of it in the new Cool Tools book which by the way is pretty much the updated whole earth catalog and is a must have reference guide.

20140405-142645.jpg

20140405-142705.jpg

20140405-142720.jpg

20140405-142735.jpg

20140405-145901.jpg

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

wordpress stats plugin