One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Tiny Homes on the Move by Lloyd Kahn

I’ve only spent a few hours so far with the book and it’s already sent me into day dreaming mode about adventures and alternate ways of living out there on the road or water. This book like all of the Lloyd Kahn books serve as a sort of inspiration guide-book it’s  full of free thinking and artistic people who are among a growing trend of people who are attempting to down scale their life’s and simplify what we are doing with our time. Smaller spaces mean less stuff,less stuff means less to take care of,less to take care of means more time and more money,more time and more money means freedom. These core philosophical beliefs are not always supported or represented very well in the mainstream media. This book is proof that there is a movement afoot and to simplify is at the top of the list ,be it a French woman who sailed her boat with no engine to the canary islands or the English artist who built a tiny home on the back of a 1959 French army truck or even a homebuilder/woodworker from Texas who is doing his best to build a more simple existence.

photo photo 1 photo 2 photo 4 photo 5

220px-Sus_scrofa_avionica by Tohner Sumerlin Jackson aka: One Tree Woodwork

8 comments on “Tiny Homes on the Move by Lloyd Kahn

  1. Crystal Jackson
    May 4, 2014

    I can’t even begin to express how excited I am about this. Great quotes, great shots, great job. Ordering my copy right now.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      May 4, 2014

      Thanks! Pretty f-ing cool. You will really dig this book but after reading it I think it might be hard to not go out and buy a vanagon.

      • Crystal Jackson
        May 5, 2014

        I’m only half-heartedly fighting that battle as is. Maybe this book will be the push over the Vanagon edge.

  2. tj
    May 5, 2014

    Wow.

  3. Tim Joe Comstock
    May 7, 2014

    I’m working on intermittent wi-fi but this…you little fooker…I am as happy and proud as if I did it myself. TOHNER EFFIN’ JACKSON HITS ONE OUT OF THE PARK! THE CROWD IS GOING WILD! THIS IS HUGE! HOORAY! HOORAY!

    Really, dude. I really am proud for you. You deserve this.

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      May 7, 2014

      Thanks Tj,

      I think maybe the old saying “even a blind hog finds an acorn now and then” may apply to how I got into LLOYD KAHNS book. But I’ll take luck any day and I’ll keep working for that next acorn. Because the one thing I know is a blind hog has to work harder then everyone else to find that acorn…..but when he does,, it taste pretty good.

  4. marksheridan
    June 12, 2014

    Congrats on being included in the book. I’ll look for that and when I see it in a bookshop I’ll tell people I know you! Mark.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      June 12, 2014

      Thanks Mark,
      It’s pretty cool being a part of a book from such an iconic author/publisher that I have been a fan of for many years. Many of his books on architecture make me feel like some of the (crazy) stuff that I build that seemingly makes no sense and even I don’t even really know why I build has a purpose and possibly even a following. Please keep your eye out for the book it’s really cool lots of interesting people doing creative stuff. Not only can you tell people you know me but that I’m a fan of your carving.
      T.s.J oneTree

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2014 by in General woodworking, Inspiration and tagged , , , .

Instagram

The last time we went on a trip out trusty Beagle stayed at Grandma's and when I came to pick her up this happened. Such a patient dog....#oldgreyhairedbeagle Setting some red ear slider turtles that have been in captivity free today. They had lived the last few years in an aquarium 12"x24". Freedom my friends good luck.... Driving home following a painted sky Learning to fly. From the sketches of Leonardo Da Vinci built by Onetreewoodwork. Built from pruning branches in the backyard,scrap of linen cloth,hemp rope, upholstery tacks and a love of foolish pursuits. A leather bound folder I keep sketches and ideas of stuff I want to build. On it is a sketch from one of Da Vinci's notebooks he was consumed with birds and flight and how man could fly like a bird. This sketch of a wing was always so beautiful to me.....rare I think to have someone devoted equally to science and art. Training my child labor and working on an experimental art/science instillation using some of the branches removed during pruning. Will post outcome of build hopefully tonight. Fans of Leonardo da Vinci and extreme foolishness stay tuned...... Fall colors in full effect here in Tx. The weather apparently has been just right for max color. Country roads:take me home
wordpress stats plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers