One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Left handed: ambidextrous carving

DSC02285 DSC02286 DSC02288 DSC02291 DSC02294 DSC02303

4 comments on “Left handed: ambidextrous carving

  1. James
    May 26, 2014

    Tohner,

    Your talent never ceases to amaze.

    Is that light ac or dc? Prob easier to change a AA battery,but could not see a cord.

    Keep on truckin’.

    J

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      May 26, 2014

      Thanks James,
      Yea it’s a battery, I even thought about maybe a candle but with the two little terrorist running around in the house I figured it wouldn’t be prudent(Dana Carvey)

      Peace and Chicken Grease.
      T

  2. Crystal Jackson
    May 27, 2014

    Wait, you carved a left hand or you carved with your left hand? Either way, looks cool.

    Also, I’ve been reading Lloyd’s book. You’re in great company, and you’re right that it only furthers my desire for a tricked out camper van. Sadly, I don’t have your woodworking skills, so I’ll have to buy one that’s ready-made. Someday.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      May 28, 2014

      Well it’s funny, I thought that it was my first left hand carving and then I realized the other three including yours (I think) was a lefty. Strange I don’t think I ever consciously decided to carve a left I suppose it may be due to the fact that my right hand is usually the dominant carver and since I don’t really draw anything on the wood I use my left as a visual reference.

      Yea Lloyd’s book is so incredibly dense with so many cool people doing cool shit and every time I pick it up I randomly open it,I love books that can be digested slowly.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

The last time we went on a trip out trusty Beagle stayed at Grandma's and when I came to pick her up this happened. Such a patient dog....#oldgreyhairedbeagle Setting some red ear slider turtles that have been in captivity free today. They had lived the last few years in an aquarium 12"x24". Freedom my friends good luck.... Driving home following a painted sky Learning to fly. From the sketches of Leonardo Da Vinci built by Onetreewoodwork. Built from pruning branches in the backyard,scrap of linen cloth,hemp rope, upholstery tacks and a love of foolish pursuits. A leather bound folder I keep sketches and ideas of stuff I want to build. On it is a sketch from one of Da Vinci's notebooks he was consumed with birds and flight and how man could fly like a bird. This sketch of a wing was always so beautiful to me.....rare I think to have someone devoted equally to science and art. Training my child labor and working on an experimental art/science instillation using some of the branches removed during pruning. Will post outcome of build hopefully tonight. Fans of Leonardo da Vinci and extreme foolishness stay tuned...... Fall colors in full effect here in Tx. The weather apparently has been just right for max color. Country roads:take me home
wordpress stats plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers