One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

In the woods with fireflies

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset.”
Crowfoot quotes

tumblr_mkwhr9mq6r1qdh7g0o1_500

5 comments on “In the woods with fireflies

  1. tim joe comstock
    June 26, 2014

    Man. Once, a gazillion years ago, I was sitting on my front porch in Dallas arguing with my first wife. She was twenty. The sun was down and she was sitting on the porch rail with her back to the yard and as we gently fought the fireflies came out and formed a kind of back drop halo around her but I was really pissed and kept on being a dick but finally, I said come sit next to me so we are looking in the same direction…and then she saw the gazillion fireflies and said “Holy Shit! What are those?”

    How can a person live twenty years without knowing about firefles? She was a Valley Girl (totally) and I guess they don’t have them there…but still…

    Ultimately, we ended up not looking in the same direction once and for all, and that makes me sad. Fireflies…

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      June 26, 2014

      Apparently like the bee lightning bugs have been disappearing and researchers don’t quite know why. They believe that’s it’s most likely from light pollution,pesticides and development. I guess since thy use a sequence of blinks to communicate that it makes for some major miscommunication and confusion in a city or suburb settings which I guess will only continue as time passes.

  2. marksheridan
    August 11, 2014

    Looks really smart. Those look like old mason jars for preserving…is that what you used? Mark.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      August 11, 2014

      Thanks Mark. They are actually apple juice bottles “Martinelli’s” they were such a wonderful shape I knew I wanted to do something other than taking them to be recycled , so fireflies and mason jars or in this case (apple juice bottles) and hot summer nights spent in the woods seemed to make sense.

  3. marksheridan
    August 12, 2014

    Well done. My son tends to like apple juice boxes…but, I guess that wouldn’t have quite the same effect. Superb job, Tohner.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Homemade bows made from the trees in the backyard and string from the kitchen, stories of my brother and I are continued on with my son the world keeps turning but some things never change. Really Amazon....really....... Don't call it a comeback I've been here for years...... Pedernales River Rio Grande cichlid caught on the Pedernales. Just before dark I saw a huge porcupine come down to the drink at the river and watched hundreds of bats in air ballet getting so close to me on the water I was sure one would hit me.  Awesome night on the river!!! Cheers.........
wordpress stats plugin
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers