One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Top ten countdown to foolishness: One Tree Woodwork

If your bored enough to wonder what I’ve been up to please follow me on http://instagram.com/onetreewoodwork  I have really enjoyed the low impact and ease of posting almost daily there. I will continue to post here of course for more thorough looks but enjoy the ease of communication in quick snap a picture form and brief written word.

Below taken from my instagram account:

The back of my One Tree Woodwork t-shirt a worthy credo to try to live up to. In honor of this credo I will pick the top ten projects One Tree has completed in the past that has shown my devotion to chasing foolish ideas and post them here starting tonight. Stay tuned.

IMG_2205-8

One tree count down- to foolish ideas #10- originally I was attempting to build a tobacco pipe which I did successfully only to have my beloved children knock it down while playing shortly after the finish was applied and broke the antler stem that created the mouth piece. After the crying ended (mine) I sucked it up switched horses and created a sconce which by all accounts was better then the original idea. Named appropriately the “Sherlock night light”. Elementary my dear Watson.

image

Countdown for foolish ideas pursued by Onetreewood work.com continues #9 – my first hand carving brought on by a sort of dream like vision. Wrote a crazy short story to go with it. A hand to light your way out of the darkness. The foolishness will continue. Stay tuned as we march closer to #1.

IMG_3323

#8 in onetreewoodwork following foolish pursuits in the world of wood. What makes a guy inlay a river rock in the middle of gorgeous spalted sycamore dining table without a plan or prior thought of the potential ramifications of inlaying a huge river rock in the middle of the table. This guy that’s who. Only thought running through my brain was well this is going to look cool….
image

Moving right along in the countdown to foolishness at Onetreewoodwork.com #7 here’s to building furniture that makes you smile and building stuff just for the f…k of it.# builders got to build

image

6 – As we gain altitude on Onetree airlines or descend depending on your point of view. Attempting to make furniture that’s closer to looking like a tree then a table. Sometimes you have to let form override function.

image

As we cruise on into #5 in Onetreewoodwork countdown of building foolish things for no other reason then to see if you can. Designing furniture with enough visual movement it looks like it may be just be able to walk away. If that’s not fun then I don’t know what is.

image

Coming in at #4 in the Onetree countdown celebrating the absurd. A lamp/art installment I built for my sisters house. Something about hands and reaching/holding or casting shadows with light haunted me for months causing me to inexplicably carve 4 such carvings. If this doesn’t begin to paint a picture of a guy who isn’t afraid to follow a foolish idea then I don’t know what is.

image

Truckin right along we slide into the #3 spot in the following foolish idea’s onetree countdown. Birds have always held a powerful place in my own personal history. When I carved this particular bird one of three birds I was going through my own personal spiritual migration. Yes there is hands and birds among other carvings coming out of every wall in my home. Foolishness damn straight.

image

#2 in Onetreewoodwork following foolish ideas to the ends of the earth. My chainsaw homage to “Starry Night”. The chainsaws aggressiveness and the texture of wood combined with the color changes in the western cedar provides a ridiculous juxtaposition that’s fundamental at Onetree.#onetreewoodworks.wordpress.com#foolishness is good for the heart

image

#1 on the Onetreewoodwork following foolish ideas no matter the outcome. That’s right I built a modified stitch and glue pocket sailboat. That filled the entire shop. Doesn’t sound that foolish? Built by a dude in Texas that never set foot on a sailboat,didn’t live very close to the water and mostly built it to see if he could. Due to unforeseen problems (selling and moving from my home and shop) I was unable to finish it and had to get rid of it. Heartbroken for a little while but things come and things go. As it was quoted on the back of the Whole Earth catalog “stay hungry. stay foolish”

image

6 comments on “Top ten countdown to foolishness: One Tree Woodwork

  1. marksheridan
    November 24, 2014

    I like that post. That boat makes me think of a number of projects that I have in the basement that’ll never get finished but that I just can’t part with.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      December 20, 2014

      Thanks Mark,
      Yea, that boat ………. I still have the hatch door to the cabin……I’ll use it someday………on something………really…..I will……..maybe tomorrow…

  2. Cro Magnon
    December 19, 2014

    Starry Night is a winner! I wonder if whoever you sold the boat to has finished it?

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      December 20, 2014

      Thanks Cro! I’m not sure if anybody ever finishes a boat it’s a perpetual project that takes both your time and money but that’s typical of any romance I suppose.

  3. projectbuddy
    February 11, 2015

    Really enjoyed this post! Great advice about being creative and living life!

Leave a comment

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

wordpress stats plugin