One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Hammer time

Original problem: as you can see below my hammer-head broke and has been that way for several years, misuse of its intended function. I found a nice piece of mesquite fall off , not a typical wood you would expect to find on a hammer handle but it sure looks good. Don’t know how good the wood will do absorbing the impact of hammering and not relaying the force of impact straight to your arm,probably not as good as hickory would but it sure is going to look sweet. Might be more of a show hammer. ย Show hammer? Yea thats right show hammer!!!

I cut the general shape of the handle with a jigsaw and cut the tenon with the Japanese pull saw. I did more precise shaping with a carving tool that had a small sanding disk attached.

After the tenon was cut I took the handsaw and split the tenon so that I could use 5 min epoxy and a wedge driven in also made of mesquite to spread the tenon tight to the inside of the socket in the hammer-head.

Finished product before and after with finish on it I used deft oil. I also took my carving tool with a sanding disk on and cleaned up the hammer-head itself.

Below you can see the wedge it took approximately ย an hour and half from start to finish including taking time out to take pictures something I am trying to be better at.

One comment on “Hammer time

  1. Crystal Jackson
    April 18, 2011

    Sometimes tools really can be works of art. I like the shots you took of the process. Super cool.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2011 by in General woodworking.

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŽฃ๐Ÿ›ถ๐Ÿ›ถ๐Ÿฅ“๐Ÿฅฉ๐Ÿป๐Ÿท๐Ÿฅƒ Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....donโ€™t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin