One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Carving without a net

I have done my fair share of carvings but most of them have been 2-d and when you add the extra dimension it adds a whole different batch of skills needed to complete the carving. I started with an off cut from a western cedar 6×12 left over from a past project and I wanted to carve a fish using a salmon\trout as my guide and inspiration. My first thought was that I would do a picture tutorial complete with in-depth information on each of the  steps,  but then I quickly realized I didn’t know shit about carving a fish seeing that this was my first attempt at a truly 3-d carving and certainly had no business telling someone else how to do it. I have carved numerous plaques with quotes I love the written word and have carved trees,flowers,birds,native american war clubs,spoons, and knives complete with wooden sheaths. This however was different it was completely free form and I didn’t draw one reference line I just carved trusting my hands that have held many a fish to instinctively know where to go. I finished the piece with exterior deft oil and used a torch to add depth and age I most likely will hang it outside maybe with a plaque beneath it. This was fun it was exhilarating not following a line and adjusting as I went and letting what I knew I must  know take over and brushing off the need to follow a template. It’s good to trust yourself every now and then.

                                                                     

             

             

           

“If our father had had his way, nobody who did not know
how to fish would be allowed to disgrace a fish by catching him.”
— Norman Maclean

2 comments on “Carving without a net

  1. Crystal Jackson
    July 17, 2011

    This is a cool project. I love the comparison of the two fish (one made of wood and one made of…fish). They’re almost the same size and look like they might live in the same place.

    Hope you do more 3-D work. Perhaps a beagle next?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2011 by in Carvings.

Instagram

Saturday. Samuel Adams Octoberfest. Maple Burl friction folder by Onetree. My newly planted Texas purple sage. Which interesting enough the native americans used to brew herbal teas that treated fever and chills. Mesquite grilled hamburgers accompanied by a mesquite friction folder. Made in Texas by me. Date night. #Reposting @artisanbuilt with @instagrab_pic -- We spent most of the morning back at the Seward Plantation working on project scope and pricing. You can't help but be transported back in time when you walk on the property. Not in the way a museum full of antiquities makes you feel. But in a real life honest representation of a home,outbuildings and contents that have somehow managed to survive in gritty glory since before the civil war. The beginning of my fall garden requires a matching beer. But of course. Coffee first. Saturday evening creek therapy. How many carpenters does it take to start an old land cruiser? Apparently it's more then four...... Date night. T-bones,beets,asparagus,mac and cheese and naan bread. And of course yet another gratuitous shot of one my homemade knifes.
wordpress stats plugin