One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Great Blue Heron

So I settled on a Great Blue Heron my reasons were many symbolism,beauty,gracefulness  but  most importantly when I stuck a big piece of square timber in between the wings trying to visualize what body should go in between, the answer was oh so  clear. The position I chose was in flight but coming in for a landing or soon after  taking off. Why is this important you ask? When in flight the long neck of the heron is folded back close to they body and as you can see the neck is extended which is commonly seen when coming in for a landing or taking off. I still have some work to do some detail sanding and texturing deciding whether I should put legs on it and of course putting a finish on it. I think it needs to be hung from the ceiling with monofilament line when finished to allow it to keep its fluidity. Keep tuned in for the finished product.

One of my favorite quotes below:

When despair for the world grows in me, and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be — I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought or grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
 Wendell Berry quotes
3 comments on “Great Blue Heron

  1. Crystal Jackson
    July 24, 2011

    Nice! We have herons in our backyard each morning and evening. They are very pretty birds. Vocal, too.

  2. Shirley and Tim Greensweight
    August 26, 2011

    Love your work…..

  3. Pingback: Shadows of the past | One Tree Woodworks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2011 by in Carvings.

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin