One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

I repeat the bird has landed…..

 

I promised some pics of the finished heron so here it is. I used a torch to flame the entire piece to give it natural shading and finished it with an exterior deft oil applying three coats. Due to the location of the mounting I decided it would be best to cut the tail off and let it appear to be in the process of flying through the wall. As if it is landing inside my living room…… I think maybe it is…….and I’m ok with that……

 

 

 

 

 

 

An artist is somebody who produces things that people don’t need to have.
Andy Warhol

 

 

2 comments on “I repeat the bird has landed…..

  1. Crystal Jackson
    July 28, 2011

    I didn’t realize how big that bird is until seeing it on your wall.

  2. TOHNER JACKSON
    July 28, 2011

    Yea it’s carved to just about the true scale of the heron. Too much? I figure if your going to do it…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2011 by in Carvings.

Instagram

We took a walk along the creek tonight. I came to this conclusion: it's all about perspective.

#dadlife#forcedperspective #takeawalk The Rain Kings.

#dadlife#dancingintherain Burned a longear last night. Not sure why. I'm hoping the reason reveals itself.

#longears#longearsunfish #creekfishing#creekbums#tenkara#tenkararodco #pyrography Creek strolling.
symbiosis happening up in here.

#creektherapy #creek #brenhamtx Thursday night at the Jackson Haus.

#txbbq #bbqchicken #bbqcorn #scotchscotchscotch In the building business you spend your life in perpetual transition.

#artisanbuilders#customhomes#custombuilders#txhomes#weekendhome #builditbetter Progression on Casa de Jackson. Grateful . Cheers to all you fellow fathers out there on this, the eve of Father's Day. 
#dadlife#saturdaynight#fathersday2017
wordpress stats plugin