One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

The eagle flies at midnight….

 

Had to do some maintenance to the house this weekend and  was left with very  little time to play around in the shop. So today I did a quick freehand plaque carving of an eagle from a Pacific Northwest perspective. The wood is western red cedar and after carving it I flamed it with a blow torch to give it some depth and age for more of a tribal look. The eye of the eagle is inset with some mother of pearl from shells that I collected off the beaches of Big Sur ,California.

I found a place for one of the previous fish carvings, on top of my fly tying cabinet.

In this never-ending summer we are having in Texas as the sweat pours down my face I think of the Pacific and it cools my mind if only for a moment I am transported and the beauty of it sends shivers up my back………….Tohner

“It is good for man
To try all changes, progress and corruption, powers, peace and anguish,
not to go down the dinosaur’s way
Until all his capacities have been explored: and it is good for him
To know that his needs and nature are no more changed, in fact, in ten
thousand years than the beaks of eagles.”
 Robinson Jeffers quote
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2011 by in Carvings.

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin