One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Canoe talk…..

I drug my 16′ Old Town canoe out of my shop to clean it up for the upcoming fall season. As the weather is changing so is my need to spend more quality time with nature. I am planing a solo day trip down the Colorado river using a small trolling motor to supplement my paddling to help quicken my pace downstream between parks so that I can get to a pull out before nightfall. There are several different day trips on different segments of the river I have not chosen one yet but would like to pick one that provides me with the maximum length of river while still maintaining some lounging time to explore and most importantly time to fish. I have an electric trolling motor that works great with my canoe and is whisper quiet so it doesn’t ruin the beauty and serenity that is the natural sounds of the river. One of the problems you run into when solo paddling in a 16′ canoe is that it’s designed to be paddled by two people so that the weight is distributed evenly so it puts the keel of the boat in the most hydrodynamic position. So sitting in the back of the boat with my weight plus the weight of the trolling motor and 50# battery can cause the front of the boat to lift out of the water causing a huge waste of power and lack of control. So I decided to move the battery to the front of the boat but in order to connect the trolling motor to the battery I had to extend the short wires that came with the motor. I did this by using a 12/2 romex wire that is commonly used for wiring in homes. I ran this wire along the gunwale of the boat so that it would be out of sight and protected from damage. Along with the battery I am going to fill a water container to help add to the weight. My hope is that I can build up some momentum to do an overnight camping trip and camp along one of the sand bar islands in the middle of the river or along the banks. I always thought it would be cool to start at the beginning of the Colorado river in Dawson county and canoe the entire length of the river 862 miles until it empties into the Gulf of Mexico at (Matagorda Bay). Camping at night at riverside parks when available and on a bank/island when it didn’t. Every night I could eat the fish I caught during the day while slowly cooking it over my campfire while meditating to the sounds of the river as I drift off to sleep.Slap back to Reality. Maybe as soon as my kids get old enough we can do it as a family which would be even better.

   

Some people drift along like a cork on a river, feeling that they cannot do anything except drift, moment to moment. This is an attitude of mind. Everyone can be constructive even in tiny ways.
 Edward de Bono quotes
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2011 by in family.

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin