One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Two fathoms deep……

A friend of ours was nice enough to give me a box of antler sheds her husband had collected that were just sitting in the garage collecting dust. When I see a box of horns like this all I see is opportunity: for handles  – knives,canes,cabinet doors,entry doors,walking staffs,etc.

I took one of the elk sheds and cut it down so that all the points could make contact with the door than pre-drilled some holes for attachment and bingo a flintstone handle for my shop door. I think it fits the vibe well and makes a great jumbo size handle. Horn has such beautiful texture and color I think when you touch horn you can feel the very soul of the animal its a very elemental thing and I dig it.

  

I have finally continued work on my Japanese cherry tree you may remember this project from such post as https://onetreewoodworks.wordpress.com/2011/06/21/a-carving-samurai-or-a-rolling-stone/. I am carving this for my daughter eventually it will have her name carved above the tree, I made a special carving for her brother to commemorate his birth and wanted this to be an equally special carving. The infill for the blossoms are made from mother of pearl collected from the beaches of Big Sur, California and the infill for the  branches are made from abalone shells also collected off the beaches crushed and ground up. Next step is to attempt to epoxy all of this mess into place. Good luck Sucker! Stay tuned..

    

We have copper countertops in our kitchen and one of the things I love about copper is that the top is constantly changing color from age and use like its alive and this design was made from some marinade I was using for some homemade jerky. Vinegar is a natural cleaner for copper and one of the more interesting facts about copper is that it has more antimicrobial properties than stainless steel .

A favorite quote of mine next to a copper rose I made.

If you hold a cat by the tail you learn things you cannot learn any other way.
 Mark Twain quotes
3 comments on “Two fathoms deep……

  1. Crystal Jackson
    October 31, 2011

    That tree is looking great. Can’t wait to see the finished product. Let me know if you need more mother of pearl from Big Sur – I’ve got a few pieces that I don’t know what to do with.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      October 31, 2011

      Thanks for the offer so far I have plenty. This is one of those projects that is going to either look great or be cast into the fire with me crying in the corner.

      • Crystal Jackson
        November 6, 2011

        No need for corner crying! It looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin