One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Blame it on my A.D.D. Baby

20120317-093311.jpg

20120317-093440.jpg

20120317-093526.jpg

20120317-093611.jpg

20120317-093631.jpg

20120317-093721.jpg

20120317-093738.jpg

20120317-093800.jpg

20120317-093833.jpg

20120317-094028.jpg

20120317-094136.jpg

20120317-094214.jpg

20120317-094250.jpg

20120317-094313.jpg

8 comments on “Blame it on my A.D.D. Baby

  1. Crystal Jackson
    March 18, 2012

    Where was the scorpion? I’ve never seen one of those in person. In bug. Whatever.

    The array of shots is like peeking into your brain for a moment. Especially if you scroll through quickly.

  2. TOHNER JACKSON
    March 18, 2012

    The scorpion was found along with many of his friends at the hunting lodge we built just a little outside Industry, Tx. It was just like peeking into my brain minus all of the scary/anxious/stressed/obscene stuff. I tried to pick shots that summed up the last 4 weeks.

  3. Crystal Jackson
    March 19, 2012

    Thanks for leaving the scary shit out. Seems unusual to see scorpions in Industry. Have they migrated or am I just out of touch with bug ecology?

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      March 19, 2012

      Yea they seemed to start showing up with the super dry summer we had.

      Also we often receive packages/material from all over the world to the job site so we often get hitchhiker’s.

      TOHNER JACKSON ARTISAN BUILDERS SUPERINTENDENT (979)-251-0300 tohner@artisanbuilders.com

  4. Tim Joe
    March 21, 2012

    Vertical grain? Mortise and tenon? Species? Nice even grain spacing indicates farm grown…doug fir? How did you cut those tenons? I realize a magician never reveals his secrets but I’ve been working on crappy thirty year old mobile homes for the last year and a half and a glimpse of a real job site and REAL WOODWORK sets m y heart to pounding.

    At Disney we would have used a big ship saw we had. I forget the size. It was big, maybe 36 inch. The lumber barn was filled with giant balks of every species you could imagine and any project from an intricate display shelf to a grand staircase with flowing balustrade started with what was almost a log which we would gang bang into approximate dimensional and then the fun began.

    Enjoy it, lad. Soon enough it will all be done with robots, holograms and extruded plastic. Which might be for the best, all things considered.

    But the CLICK of when that joint (big or small) goes “click”…well, that’s a shared secret, no? It is an earned thing . I really do enjoy your site.

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      March 21, 2012

      Tim,
      Good eye, the wood in question is indeed Douglas Fir straight grained material. No there was no ship saw used although one of those would have been handy. Just my old trusty Makita circular saw to start the cuts on shoulder and end of tenon and a handsaw to finish them. For the mortise not shown in the pics I ended up using a forstner bit and chisel since the size and location didn’t allow for a hollow chisel machine.

      Did you actually work for Disney? If so I would love to hear(read) about that. There are so many things about building furniture,houses,boats,etc that is so honest and elemental that sometimes I find myself learning to make sense of some (small,fraction) of the convoluted bullshit in this world. The mortise and tenon doesn’t care about who you know,your religion,ethnicity,politics,bank account or who your momma was. It can only be achieved through a little hard work and patience and a few(whole bunch) of expletives. There are so many things that I don’t understand about this world but the building of things helps me cope with the knowledge I probably never will.

      Sorry for the rather long winded response. I very much enjoy your blog and feel that your writing is brilliant. I feel like I learn a little about life and writing and am always entertained every time I read your blog.
      Keep truckin,
      T

  5. Tim Joe
    March 22, 2012

    Tohner! Trust it for the truth that it is I that am learning from you. They say that age brings wisdom but I am not so sure about that; the older and wiser that I become I am only sadly reminded of how much I do not know.

    Yeah…Disney. Me and my Pop went up there in 1972 as Union Carpenters and got in on the building of the place, made a pocketful and went back to our regular jobs of union hi-rise form and pour construction in Ft. Lauderdale. Then, twenty years later I found myself Back At the Rat, working out of a department called Central Shops building everything you see should you go there as a tourist. I would be there even yet unto today if not for an episode known as Dumbo’s Ass. They still talk about it, I am told. Immediately after that a little outfit named Universal Studios decided to put up some competition for Disney and I was lucky enough to garner the trim contract for all the restaurants in the place, which was a lucrative package indeed. Those people throw dollars around pretty good, I’ll tell ya. I did the interior package of the Hard Rock Cafe, both at Universal and Washington, D.C. Heady stuff involving helicopters and movie stars and private jets. And yet, here am I, old, wise and trailer parked.

    Never raise your voice to women or children, however they vex you;
    as bold as they act it is you that they are counting on.

    Never leave a project unfinished; ever. It will haunt your dreams and discolor every other job you undertake.

    And always listen to the Voice. It never lies.

    This ain’t advice, I’m just reminding myself. As for you, you seem to be a Lucky One. Don’t stop.

    When it is all said and done, it will be Carpenters who fix it.

    Yer Pal, Tim Joe Comstock
    United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      March 23, 2012

      Tim,
      Words to live by. I’ll take free advice like that any day of the week. Your story sounds fantastically interesting and as usual you have left me wanting more but that’s your M.O that’s what makes you such a great writer.

      Someday soon someone will figure out what a great writer you are and pay you handsomely for your services and I will have to pay if I want to see your musings. When this happens I will do so happily.

      your friend,
      Tohner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2012 by in Furniture, Homebuilding and tagged , .

Instagram

We took a walk along the creek tonight. I came to this conclusion: it's all about perspective.

#dadlife#forcedperspective #takeawalk The Rain Kings.

#dadlife#dancingintherain Burned a longear last night. Not sure why. I'm hoping the reason reveals itself.

#longears#longearsunfish #creekfishing#creekbums#tenkara#tenkararodco #pyrography Creek strolling.
symbiosis happening up in here.

#creektherapy #creek #brenhamtx Thursday night at the Jackson Haus.

#txbbq #bbqchicken #bbqcorn #scotchscotchscotch In the building business you spend your life in perpetual transition.

#artisanbuilders#customhomes#custombuilders#txhomes#weekendhome #builditbetter Progression on Casa de Jackson. Grateful . Cheers to all you fellow fathers out there on this, the eve of Father's Day. 
#dadlife#saturdaynight#fathersday2017
wordpress stats plugin