One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

They say don’t quit your day job…..

We are in the final obnoxious,anxious,hysterical throws of one of the projects we have been building this past year. A private hunting lodge. Some of you out there may be unaware that my day job includes building custom homes. I know what your thinking “I knew this guy didn’t make a living out of the crazy useless shit he builds in his shop” and you would be correct ,I don’t. Maybe someday I will be able to make a living of the crazy shit that I build inside my brain and in my shop. Until then this is what pays the bills and when you catch me on a good day when I am able to separate the love of building from all the drama that is usual with these types of projects, I am as close to in my natural element as one can be.

I enjoy building and the length of time involved in these projects satisfies my inner nomadic nature. You get to put a piece of yourself into a building (blood,sweat,tears,profanity) and then you get to move on and leave it behind. Β Just keep moving on……Just keep truckin,

A few pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When one has finished building one’s house, one suddenly realizes that in the process one has learned something that one really needed to know in the worst way – before one began.
Friedrich Nietzsche

5 comments on “They say don’t quit your day job…..

  1. Crystal Jackson
    April 4, 2012

    I thought of you/your job today while I was at mine. I was double-checking a spreadsheet against what was on my computer. My eyes were getting bleary, and I glanced around at other people who were staring at their computers and clicking on keyboards and ingesting caffeine and I almost started laughing. Or crying. I love my job, truly, but there are moments when I’m doing the equivalent of running on a gerbil wheel and I long for the feeling of completion and accomplishment that you must feel when you finish a house.

  2. Crystal Jackson
    April 4, 2012

    The lodge looks beautiful, by the way. I hope that someday you live off your crazy shit, but in the meantime you’re creating live-in pieces of art. That’s more than most of us will ever do.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      April 4, 2012

      Thanks, I would say the only downside of having projects that always have a start and finish is that you often forget to enjoy the in-between part.
      I think the secret to a happy life is learning how to enjoy the in-between part.

  3. Tim Joe Comstock
    April 6, 2012

    I wish I had a cool sister.

    Someone once said that work is prayer. I really like that but when the job is approaching the part where the bank and the lawyers and the owners are all treating you like a malcontent and a thief but you go out and stand far enough away from the building so that you are looking at the elevation in 1/4 inch scale and you are the only one who knows what it took to take that empty ground and that pile of wood and make it into that…that residence, that restaurant, that cathedral…well prayer ain’t what’s on your mind but while the Ones Who Don’t Know peck away there it is: Ya built something and they can never take that away.

    We all have happy lives. The secret is in knowing it. Thanks for letting me hang out. It’s like a friendly couch on a stormy night.

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      April 6, 2012

      Tim,
      I do have a cool sister. I love how your comments are often better than my post. It makes me feel like maybe there is more than just a couple of us in this fish bowl together and if we all swim in the same direction we just might get out of it.

      Come hang out any time I’ll leave the light on.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in Homebuilding and tagged .

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. πŸ‘πŸŽ£πŸ›ΆπŸ›ΆπŸ₯“πŸ₯©πŸ»πŸ·πŸ₯ƒ Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin