One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Have gun will travel…

Everyday I go to work and put my nail bag on much like a gunfighter puts his six-shooter on. I am a hired gun, hired out not for his opinion but for his gun. Executing the plan to the ( T ) set forth by architects,engineers,clients,designers and the like.  This I have become accustomed to, although its been hard  being a passionate/creative person who often looks at things from a different perspective. In my 15 + years of being a carpenter I have seen what a profession such as a carpentry can do to ones body and soul. It’s a hard job and if one is forced or chooses to be in the labor end of it and not the management end there comes a time in which your experience is less needed/wanted and your back or lack of it becomes a liability. Stay in school “your too smart for this” rings in my head.  “want to bet I respond.”

Though when I first started, this profession seemed to have endless opportunities or so it seemed. Not sure if I’ve changed or just my perspective I’m willing to wager on both. A lot of the problems in the last 4 years could mainly be linked to the economy but some of it must be attributed to the growing lack of interest in products that are handmade or at least interest in paying for it. Sure there are some sub-specialties that are highly sought after but for the most part down here in Texas I don’t see it. The hipster yuppies can spend the money but usually only if it looks like it came off the pages of Dwell magazine. Which the bulk of modern design leaves me feeling sick its sterile hospital look disgust me (sorry for being so blunt.) But we are all here to make money right?
So it would seem as if I am as  guilty as  the gunfighter as long as the check clears it makes no difference what the target is you pick em’ I stick em’.

I have re read this post and it seems as if there is some anger. Some self-righteous bullshit and for that I apologize because I know I am blessed to even have a job so many are without and would give much to be in my shoes. This fact however does not change the way I feel and I suppose that most don’t read my post to listen to bitching for I know my hardworking brothers and sisters have many problems and many most likely make mine seem petty.

Probably this is just me blowing of some steam. Because at the end of the day learning how to (build) has made me who I am and for that I am grateful. In life some days you’re the hammer and some days you’re the nail but one has to recognize when your to often the latter.

For all your days be prepared, and meet them ever alike.When you are the anvil, bear – when you are the hammer, strike.

-Edwin Markham-

One comment on “Have gun will travel…

  1. Tim Joe Comstock
    June 21, 2012

    Thanks for a VERY good post, Tohner.

    It was the hired-gun factor that led to my eventual life-long career slingin’ nails. It morphed into a piratical practice later; but the ability to pull up on a site anywhere in the country and have three or four new drinkin’ buddies and a paycheck (usually cash) was enticing as hell to a guy who always wanted to be somewhere else. Plus my Dad was a union carpenter, as was his dad, and myself from time to time.

    But there is a lot more to say about your post. Or not. I know where you are coming from and if your post might be considered angry, my thoughts on the subject would be the deranged ravings of a dangerous maniac.

    I think I will finish my lunch, go put the first coat of mud on the twenty boards I just finished hanging and come back and get ‘faced and write a long comment. Save my place.

    tj

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2012 by in General woodworking, Homebuilding and tagged , , .

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin