One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Past or present

Once when I was a youth roaming the countryside moving from one pasture to the next looking for animals, wood or fish, I crossed a gravel road and saw a bobcat that had just been run over. I always feel a little pity for something run over after all its not a good way to go. But this bothered me in another way that was difficult to put a finger on at the time, but for some reason that thought happened to drift back into my mind the other day and the clouds parted for a few seconds and it was clear. The bobcat is yet another example of the brilliance of evolution and how creatures over thousands of years evolve in order to survive the ever changing planet. Everything from the shape of the head to the placement of muscles on the leg is engineered by the mighty mysterious power of evolution that is constantly adapting to the challenges of time. This bobcat usually reclusive and seldomly seen was relatively left undamaged from the accident which allowed me to see him in all of his brilliance a beautiful creature. Then I thought about how the bulk of the evolutionary change in this animal had actually happened long ago when the planet was a very different place but it has continued to evolve even if in just small ways since his ancestors roamed the planet during the Pleistocene era.Yet here he was taken down by filthy man made invention which has also been evolving at what seems to be a much faster rate. I thought about how he and I might have been designed for a more simple life that maybe our evolution had stopped hundreds if not thousands of years ago while the machines continue to evolve. He was caught by fate/evolution or just bad luck yet I was still running.So it would seem we animals have two options, one is to hide and wait the other is to run…and my wish is to run. We are here to run and not to hide. So say a silent prayer to those who have fallen,lend a hand to those that are in need,give thanks for the blessing to still have the chance to run and pick up that spear and run, run hard and don’t look back.

We are creatures of action and so it should be…..

T.S.J

2 comments on “Past or present

  1. Tim Joe Comstock
    August 4, 2012

    Oh, man…oh listen, there is a lot more going on than we can know. I once stared down a bobcat on a dusty fire road in the hills above Big Bear Lake and the nobility and the utility-of-purpose of that bad-ass feline, frozen in the haze and caught in a gentle dash of sunshine in the summer in the mountains: that moment caused bobcats to be my favorite wild thing. But I hear echoes of Mason in your post and summer seems to last forever even when it should end; and end it will but meanwhile we have what friends (and summer sunshine) that we have and no animal should die on the side of the road. But friends we have and when I read a post like this one I am lucky to know your work and glad that you choose to share it with us.

    There also is fierce action in repose and that is a thing I am still learning. The pulled bowstring is quiet, yet much action takes place when it is released. I am being today tormented and misused by naughty children of avaricious intent and I am sad for them, and a little sad for myself, because I am not a bobcat. If I were, there would be plenty of action and thus my reason for my sadness: we are animals caged by the norms of society and so the simple-minded greedy criminals that run this zoo can get away with their foul misdeeds but I know this: I have seen the recognition in their eyes when they know they have pushed a little too hard and I have seen their fear and I am poor, I am poor on purpose and live closer to the ground than they do and I am closer to the bobcat than they will ever be.

    And so are you and fear not, lad, your open-hearted honesty and quiet hunger will carry you through. Summer is the best but we are all happy when it is over.

    I always seem to leave these long posts with you and CryJack but you guys somehow pull them out of me and you two are a summer of my soul.

    Thank you so much.

    tj

  2. TOHNER JACKSON
    August 4, 2012

    tj,
    Thanks for reading,thanks for commenting,thanks for taking time to look behind the curtain.Tonight I shall raise a toast to those of us who live close to the ground .
    Cheers my friend!
    Tohner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2012 by in family and tagged , , , .

Instagram

Saturday. Samuel Adams Octoberfest. Maple Burl friction folder by Onetree. My newly planted Texas purple sage. Which interesting enough the native americans used to brew herbal teas that treated fever and chills. Mesquite grilled hamburgers accompanied by a mesquite friction folder. Made in Texas by me. Date night. #Reposting @artisanbuilt with @instagrab_pic -- We spent most of the morning back at the Seward Plantation working on project scope and pricing. You can't help but be transported back in time when you walk on the property. Not in the way a museum full of antiquities makes you feel. But in a real life honest representation of a home,outbuildings and contents that have somehow managed to survive in gritty glory since before the civil war. The beginning of my fall garden requires a matching beer. But of course. Coffee first. Saturday evening creek therapy. How many carpenters does it take to start an old land cruiser? Apparently it's more then four...... Date night. T-bones,beets,asparagus,mac and cheese and naan bread. And of course yet another gratuitous shot of one my homemade knifes.
wordpress stats plugin