One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

If asked again

A small fossil and piece of pallet I had laying around.

20120812-165813.jpg

I got reacquainted with an internet site of a woodworker who really inspires me and builds some really incredible art both amazing in its creativity and execution. Visit him here enjoy

Do you remember when in school and you were asked by a teacher/guidance counselor what you wanted to do when you grew up? In order to really get you to dream big you were told to imagine you had just won the lottery and money was of no concern? What would you do?

Sample day below.

If asked that same thing today I would say I would live somewhere on the Pacific coast. I would wake up early in the morning and walk the beach combing it for driftwood,shells and rocks and dream about what I could build that afternoon. I would work like an obsessed mad man until dinner which I would then return again to the water and a small bonfire this time to join my family in a simple dinner while watching the sun go down and discussing each of our adventures that day. After dinner and the kids to bed I would slip out down the street to a fellow artisans house to learn a new craft/art I would return home around 10:00 that evening to enjoy a glass of port with the wife in front of the old stone fireplace and drift in and out of conciseness watching the glow of the fire and looking forward to doing it all over again tomorrow.

If asked today what would you like to do when you grow up? All submissions welcome….

“We grow neither better nor worse as we get old, but more like ourselves”
May Lamberton Becker

P.S – you know where I was talking about that simple dinner on the beach the below pic may be involved. Hey what can I say……a leopard doesn’t change his spots…..

20120812-173124.jpg

20120812-175411.jpg

One comment on “If asked again

  1. Crystal Jackson
    August 13, 2012

    Had fun thinking about your question last night. I haven’t quite nailed down my ideal day, but I do know it would include: reading, writing, laughing, enjoying the outdoors, coffee, wine, a dramatic sunset and James (not necessarily in that order). I hope your Pacific dream comes true some day, and I hope to be just up (or down) the road a piece.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Carvings, family, General woodworking and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

We took a walk along the creek tonight. I came to this conclusion: it's all about perspective.

#dadlife#forcedperspective #takeawalk The Rain Kings.

#dadlife#dancingintherain Burned a longear last night. Not sure why. I'm hoping the reason reveals itself.

#longears#longearsunfish #creekfishing#creekbums#tenkara#tenkararodco #pyrography Creek strolling.
symbiosis happening up in here.

#creektherapy #creek #brenhamtx Thursday night at the Jackson Haus.

#txbbq #bbqchicken #bbqcorn #scotchscotchscotch In the building business you spend your life in perpetual transition.

#artisanbuilders#customhomes#custombuilders#txhomes#weekendhome #builditbetter Progression on Casa de Jackson. Grateful . Cheers to all you fellow fathers out there on this, the eve of Father's Day. 
#dadlife#saturdaynight#fathersday2017
wordpress stats plugin