One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

What came first the chicken or the smoke

It was “chicken Sunday” today or so we call it, which is a chicken and sausage bbq hosted by the Catholic Church and prepared by the Knights of Columbus a fraternal organization.

Now let me say I’m not a religious man although I think of myself as a very spiritual person. I figure if R.EM would have eaten this BBQ in the 80’s they would never have lost their religion in the 90’s. In all seriousness the chicken and sausage is incredible and is always consistently perfectly done by volunteers that no doubt have been passed the secret knowledge that has been carried on to the letter through the years. Cooked on long homemade brick troughs all with big steel lids and on the second Sunday of the month they will do aprox. 250+ chickens 150 links of sausage 60 racks of ribs. Robb Walsh the Texas food writer should really come to check it out I think he would approve on both the idea and execution.

I disassembled the old treadle sewing machine and made a new top that I sculpted from spalted sycamore to resemble a boogie board that was carved from a piece of drift wood. Think :”Tom Hanks on Castaway”. What of it? You wanna fight about it.

20121014-141301.jpg

20121014-141507.jpg

Garden is doing great so far with the “whatever” method being employed.

20121014-141750.jpg

Made a blade for the hell of it from an old file this week.

20121014-141849.jpg

Attempting to turn my old smoke house that has been used as a place to store lawn equipment and other junk into a finishing shop, camp house, place of meditation and drink. A place that will hopefully keep its patina as a badge of its past while being cleaned up enough to enjoy a new future. First thing on the list is replacing the rotten floor ,when it was used as a smoke house it had a dirt floor but somewhere along the way a floor was added and has since been rotting. I was working inside of it today as a rain storm passed and it was so loud on the old tin roof it made me drift off into a cosmos of potentiality for this 8′ by 10′ space. I must adhere to my very limited budget meaning maybe some good old dumpster diving at our job sites for construction debri is in order.

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

Henry David Thoreau

3 comments on “What came first the chicken or the smoke

  1. Trailer Park Cyclist
    October 15, 2012

    I’m pretty sure Thoreau was a Mason, also. The coolest ever Mason was Aleister Crowley. He was the closest to the real deal.

    You are the only other person I know who knows what spalted wood is. The natural shape and softness of the top is a fine juxtaposition for the iron work below. May I suggest a warm hand-applied tung oil finish topped with spar varnish? I usually heat the oil in a coffee can inside a pot of water and apply by literally rubbing it in with my bare hands. The spar varnish is for protection from mint juleps and also because it is such a groovy product.

    But you already know all that.

    As you may be aware, I am a semi-pro barbecue monster and if this lottery ticket I have here stuffed between two tootsie pop wrappers comes through I will devote my life to church socials and old wood. Well, i already did that. Sorta.

    Why do I keep my lotto tickets between two Tootsie pop wrappers? I’m glad I asked. Not just any wrapper will do. These are the tootsie pop wrappers from the chocolate tootsie pop, and they are the ones with a picture of the little indian with a bow and arrow, shooting at a star. Why are they lucky?

    Well…you’ll have to ask a Mason.

    tj

  2. TOHNER JACKSON
    October 16, 2012

    Science is always discovering odd scraps of magical wisdom and making a tremendous fuss about its cleverness.
    Aleister Crowley

    A hand rubbed tung oil finish is exactly what I intend to put on it. Probably about 6 really heavily applied coats each time using wet/dry 600 grit paper while its still wet rubbing until the heat from the friction created is hard to handle.

    “Legend of the Indian wrapper” – Free bag of candy…….well we can all shoot for the stars can’t we?

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. πŸ‘πŸŽ£πŸ›ΆπŸ›ΆπŸ₯“πŸ₯©πŸ»πŸ·πŸ₯ƒ Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin