One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Square One

Migration:
And I’m back…. Last we spoke I was working on a personal migration of sorts both physically and spiritually. You may remember from such post as Old house and snickers bar I have been involved in the painful throes of attempting to sell my completely restored historic home in a not so great economic climate. A house that I devoted the last six years of my life and every nickel I could scrape together. Why sell it?Because in all ways it was time to move on. We were stuck in a moment and needed to get out. In total the house has been on the market for two years. During the last several years the road had gotten dark since my brother left. Life wasn’t the same and I knew it never would be. It took me to my knees and stripped me of everything that wasn’t elemental to my being. What was left was someone who no longer was tied to anything they owned. It was just stuff and when you look at the things you own as just stuff then everything changes.

North:
So we had an offer on that old house we couldn’t refuse and like a dingy being towed behind an enormousness tanker ship in rough seas we cut the rope and raised our homemade sails. Where did we end up you ask. North I say. Only 40 miles or less as the crow flies but in many ways a very different country.

Woahh…. You say what about that smokehouse you were fixing up to be a studio/single malt scotch thinking room. Well within about a week we had an offer on the table. I had at the end of a six year intense restoration project restored the last remaining project. So it goes……. My job was complete and I was free to go. God speed….

Back to square one:

So my new shop/shack leaves a lot to be desired complete with wild animals and no doors. Lots of projects have been marinating over the last month and I can’t wait to crank Onetreewoodworks up again. New beginnings and new ideas. Stay tuned…

Doo doo doo looking out my back door.

20121212-203957.jpg

7 comments on “Square One

  1. Crystal Jackson
    December 13, 2012

    Here’s to new beginnings. How sweet it is.

  2. Tim Joe Comstock
    December 14, 2012

    Welcome back! Everything I know I learned from Creedence. Well, most everything. So it sounds like another project house. Tracy Kidder said somewhere in his book “House” “Carpenters always seem to live in unfinished spaces.” I know I sure do. All of my life is an unfinished space; I planned it that way…although I sometimes question the wisdom of that.

    It was a very strong post, Tohner. Thanks

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      December 16, 2012

      Yep, unfinished spaces is pure potentiality. I am.
      I am sure that potentiality or the faith of its existence is what drives me. If my post is strong its only because I’m trying not to be an embarrassment of a link on your site. I have to say you have been writing post like a heavy weight lately and I have enjoyed it greatly. You seem to be in your element and I hope that your potentiality as a writer is recognized soon. If not, you have to know we faithful readers recognize it and are nourished from it.

      T.s.J

  3. Trailer Park Cyclist
    December 24, 2012

    Merry Christmas, Tohner, to you and yours.

    tj

  4. TOHNER JACKSON
    December 25, 2012

    Merry Christmas to you Tim Joe. I have tried to post comments on your site several times and have had no luck. Don’t know for sure if its on my end or yours. I have hung on every word of your mini-series in” Lala” land. It’s raw and its real and its beautiful and its ugly. I hope you remember the beauty as clearly as you do the ugly. Actually I hope we both do.

    Here is to the beauty. My friend.

    T.S.J

    • Trailer Park Cyclist
      December 25, 2012

      It would be comforting indeed to hear from you on those painful posts; and yet, and yet… well, me and him have travelled some miles together. A lot of miles. That series was just a way of letting him know that I am paying attention; in case he checks back in…meanwhile…well, meanwhile I trust you guys to pay attention your ownselves. But I already know that you are on watch and doing it all the way it should be …done. But never is it easy, me lad, they grow and ripen and become themselves and that is when they need us the most. It ain’t easy, I’ll tell ya. But somehow we slug on through it. I am confident that you will do better than me, but don’t count on it. It is one fucking hard job.

      yer pal. tj

      • TOHNER JACKSON
        December 25, 2012

        I thought of this quote from a favorite author of mine and thought that I would share. It came to mind while reading your stories.

        At sunrise everything is luminous but not clear. It is those we live with and love and should know who elude us. You can love completely without complete understanding.”
        ― Norman Maclean

        T.s.J

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in family, Furniture, General woodworking, Homebuilding.

Instagram

We took a walk along the creek tonight. I came to this conclusion: it's all about perspective.

#dadlife#forcedperspective #takeawalk The Rain Kings.

#dadlife#dancingintherain Burned a longear last night. Not sure why. I'm hoping the reason reveals itself.

#longears#longearsunfish #creekfishing#creekbums#tenkara#tenkararodco #pyrography Creek strolling.
symbiosis happening up in here.

#creektherapy #creek #brenhamtx Thursday night at the Jackson Haus.

#txbbq #bbqchicken #bbqcorn #scotchscotchscotch In the building business you spend your life in perpetual transition.

#artisanbuilders#customhomes#custombuilders#txhomes#weekendhome #builditbetter Progression on Casa de Jackson. Grateful . Cheers to all you fellow fathers out there on this, the eve of Father's Day. 
#dadlife#saturdaynight#fathersday2017
wordpress stats plugin