One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

My new mobile workshop/meditation room

20130411-173737.jpg

20130411-173754.jpg

20130411-173813.jpg

20130411-173844.jpg

20130411-173907.jpg

20130411-173920.jpg

20130411-173929.jpg

20130411-173941.jpg

20130411-173953.jpg

20130411-174002.jpg

20130411-174010.jpg
Small rooms or dwellings discipline the mind, large ones weaken it. -Leonardo Da Vinci

5 comments on “My new mobile workshop/meditation room

  1. Trailer Park Cyclist
    April 13, 2013

    That’s really nice. I had a similar set up with my old ’73 Chevy Step Van but I always wanted a trailer. No motor and can be dropped when not needed and also no insurance and cheap tags. By the way, I have that same saw. It is a kind of miracle tool. Mine has run over twenty miles of base and thousands and thousands lineal feet of crown.

    No wonder I’m tired.

    tj

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      April 13, 2013

      Thanks! We have a big covered trailer at work but its so packed with heavy machinery you can’t do much with it but use it as a storage container. I kind of wanted something light and more devoted to trim work with a spot to do carving work. I just bought that chop we’ve had both Makita and Dewalt sliding chops and it seems as if the Dewalt stays more precise the Makita slider we have has a little slop. I remember when I found out that you could cut crown laying flat on the saw. I was taught by old Germans that refused to lay it flat and instead used the upside down and backwards technique. To each his own I suppose….

      • Tim Joe
        April 13, 2013

        I had a big 12″ Ryobi (Non sliding) miter saw that i cut the PREVIOUS miles of crown with. Upside down and backwards with the crown seated in the table. Running crown is my favorite. Me and a helper on stilts. I would make the miter on the left hand of the piece (working the room clockwise) then go to the corner with my “stick’, hook the end of his tape to get the measurement, then hustle back over to the saw table where my tape was already laid out and waiting. Make the cut, feed him the piece and go back to the corner with my stick to hold up the end of the crown while he made the joint and nailed it. After he worked towards me enough that the crown was supported, I boogied back to the saw, made the next left hand cut (splice, miter, 22.5) and stretched out my tape.

        We worked nights when all the other subs were gone and the place was quiet. Rock and roll or classical or jazz (depending on the helper) blasting on my big Milwaukee Rockwell, a cooler full of brew and it was easy to run six or seven hundred feet in ten hours. At $3 a foot.

        This was in the ’90’s, installing Ruby Tuesdays and Olive Gardens and Outbacks and TGI Fridays and I did the trim at the Hard Rock DC and Hard Rock Universal. If you look at my resume it looks like i’m lying and if not lying then I should be rich.

        Sorry. Glory Days Syndrome. Maybe you should run some 4” crown around the inside of your new meditation trailer.

        tj

      • TOHNER JACKSON
        April 13, 2013

        Speaking of resumes we get on average a couple of them a week,when the shit hit the fan in the construction world in 07 we would receive one every day. They all look the same fluffed up and all looking for management positions there’s no shortage of people with a couple of years of experience,degrees that help them little in this profession and a real need to hold a clipboard. They are barking up the wrong tree with us we do on average 3-4 high end truly custom homes the word custom has been over used almost as much as “thinking outside of the box” there is no need for clipboards on our jobs we all know our roles and work with subs we have used for the last 15-20 years. Every house we have ever built has been very different then the last. When you have such an intimate relationship with the owners,architects,designers and subs there is no place for the fluff that some of those guys can get away with in larger operations. You can’t hide behind a clip board on the type of projects we work on because you would be eaten alive.
        No I wish I was receiving resumes like yours like I said before a quarter as good would be nice. A dying breed in our area but with what looks to be some real movement in our market I wish I was because I would be assembling the A team as we speak….

  2. Tim Joe
    April 13, 2013

    Well, I bid my first condo job in six years last week. A little six story with 25 units and a hundred common area doors. I am fairly certain I will get the job and this might be the turning of the tide. I love the condo game. The money is great and if you are lucky enough to have a happy relationship with the builder it can be pretty nice. Get a twenty story, two-hundred luxury unit building and it is a year’s worth of steady work. I’m due.

    Penthouses are also a blast. Usually price is no object and all the materials are top shelf. Like your custom homes, I guess. I always wanted to do one custom after another but somehow it never clicked. I’m glad it is working for you. Stay in touch, lad. It helps.

    tj

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2013 by in Furniture, General woodworking, Homebuilding and tagged , , .

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. πŸ‘πŸŽ£πŸ›ΆπŸ›ΆπŸ₯“πŸ₯©πŸ»πŸ·πŸ₯ƒ Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin