One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Gimme Shelter from the storm………

Give me Shelter from the storm.

Presenting : The Shelter bookcase a sacred place to hold a few of the books that have changed my building-creating life forever. Thank you for showing me the path….

DSC01791

DSC01765 DSC01767 DSC01788 DSC01770 DSC01746 DSC01786 DSC01755 DSC01763

DSC01728

While civilization has been improving our houses, it has not equally improved the men who are to inhabit them. It has created palaces, but it was not so easy to create noblemen and kings.
Henry David Thoreau

9 comments on “Gimme Shelter from the storm………

  1. Crystal Jackson
    June 24, 2013

    Man, you’re really feeling it these days. I think this piece would be right at home in a hobbit’s house. Super cool.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      June 24, 2013

      Thanks, you know how it is when the vortex opens it’s our duty to walk on through to the other side……..

      • Crystal Jackson
        June 25, 2013

        It’s a duty that many shrug off, so kudos to you for RUNNING to the other side. I’m really enjoying seeing all this cool stuff you’re making.

  2. diydad
    June 24, 2013

    Wow… This is awesome. I would love to see build steps and pics for this. I assume a chain saw was involved… But what did you use to get the “scaled” look? Did you use a blow torch to blacken the edges of the scales?

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      June 24, 2013

      Hey thanks man, I need to be better about every once in awhile taking more time in the design phase (taking pics) and giving a clearer (crazy) window into what process and what order I do to complete projects. I’m not sure I have a great deal to teach because I’m(crazy) but I am happy to share what I do know. After I use a chainsaw to rough out the project out I use a grinder with a chainsaw blade to do the bulk of the finer details including the scales which is just by eye and hand and is mostly just time spent ruining projects that you learn how to use a light hand with a machine that is more than happy to rip your project or (skin) apart. The blade I use for the grinder is called a (king arthur blade) I think. I have several chainsaws but prefer to use an electric for carvings that aren’t huge, still a dangerous machine but as soon as you take your finger off the trigger the blade stops almost immediately which is a good thing. I love to use a torch with my carvings it allows you to not only shade but also depth the Japanese are really the ones who perfected it calling it Shou-sugi-ban but they primarily used it on flat surfaces I love what it can do to 3 dimensional objects.

  3. TJC
    June 24, 2013
    • TOHNER JACKSON
      June 24, 2013

      Yes, Im lucky enough to have been exposed to it at a fairly early age by my father who has always been preaching the virtues of that book and also a huge fan of The timeless way of building. They both will have an honored seat on the ever rotating shelf on my bookcase of honor.

  4. TJC
    July 1, 2013

    DUDE! Saw your piece over at Lloyd’s! Good for you! Mr. Big Time!

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Saturday night vibes got me like....
.
.
.
.
.
#lakebum#kayakfishing #kayaking#saturdaynight #lifeisbetteroutside #flyfishing #sunset#familytime#getoutside#igtexas#smores#fishbum Sunday. 72 degrees. Not a boat in site. Sunday meditation. On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. 👍🎣🛶🛶🥓🥩🍻🍷🥃 Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come.......
wordpress stats plugin