One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Motawi tile framed by One Tree

On my Sisters here last vacation to our family’s beloved Big Sur area she bought a beautiful tile crafted by Motawi check them out here. She requested a frame worthy of housing this tile for Christmas. She sent me an example of a classic and simple Craftsman quarter sawn oak frame beautiful as it was I have a problem with coloring inside the lines and also assumed that my sister somewhat expected me to use a little artistic license. Frames are difficult because you want them to enhance the work of art but not overshadow and stay somewhat congruent with the theme.

This is my effort: made from a beautifully figured and spalted piece of sycamore from a tree cut down by yours truly. The joinery is half lapped and square pegged with walnut. Finish was about 5  coats of hand rubbed deft oil.



Art consists of limitation. The most beautiful part of every picture is the frame.
Gilbert K. Chesterton

4 comments on “Motawi tile framed by One Tree

  1. Crystal Jackson
    December 26, 2013

    The value of our house went up 100% when we put this beautiful piece of art on the wall. I can’t wait to get home from work so I can look at it again.

  2. marksheridan
    January 7, 2014

    This is beautiful. Easy to see why your sister is so thrilled with the work. I really like the walnut accent. Mark.

      January 8, 2014

      Thanks Mark,
      It’s always nice to build for someone who is appreciative of the effort it takes and makes it much more satisfying to build. Although she’s family so she had to say she liked it right…..haha

  3. Trailer Park Cyclist
    January 20, 2014

    How did I miss this post? I’ll catch up…

Leave a Reply

This entry was posted on December 26, 2013 by in family, General woodworking and tagged , , , , .


Throwback pic: 13 or so years ago me and a buddy of mine spent many a weekend in the woods milling trees that I subsequently built many pieces of furniture from.Coming across this pic sent my mind on a bit of a memory drift : 
You never know what childhood memories will shape what and who you are. For me the smell of a chainsaw and the smell of fresh cut oak and the way sawdust feels on my arm always takes me back to childhood and going on weekend adventures into the woods to cut wood for the wood stove at home. The wood stove that was our only source of heat for the first few years of our life in the country after moving from the city. Looking back now I know my father would have obviously loved to have been able to have just turned a dial and had heat in our home. But as a kid I never saw the work or inconvenience of it just the adventure,the smell, the sound and the excitement of being in the woods cutting wood with my family.#onetreewoodwork #roots#smalltowntx#chainsawmill#furniturebuilder#customhomebuilder#secondgenerationbuilder#woodisgood#builditandhewillcome #husqvarna #bodark#mesquitewood #bluecollar #familymemories The American white pelican has the second biggest wingspan of any North American bird second only to the California Condor. They often collectively hunt (herd) fish in this case the abundant shad along the lake shore the very same place I throw my cast net for shad actually. In Texas this time of year we play host to so many birds migrating here for the warmer temperatures and easier non frozen fishing grounds.#getoutside#lakesomerville #txstatepark#whitepelicans#migration#birdsofinstagram Can't find a spoon carve a spoon. Mesquite.#onetreewoodwork#spooncarving #mesquitewood#woodisgood Find some Holiday cheer wherever you can.#getoutside#shinercheer #lakesomerville Did a little pre-Turkey hike around the lake with the family this morning. Before the weather and turkey hang over sets in. I haven't been to the lake since the last big batch of rain and man did it rise.#thanksgiving2015 #getoutside #lakesomerville #preturkey#texasig#welchpark On this the day before Thanksgiving I give thanks for BEING HERE NOW. We are here and others we love are not and that is just life. Fragile and fleeting this life is and we are here for only a moment a flash really. We owe it to life and those around us to always "Be here now". #onetreewoodwork #thanksgiving2015 #beherenow#ramdass Flip side of necklace. Just plain old wood therapy on this side.#onetreewoodwork #aromatherapyjewelry #mesquitewood#woodisgood Prototype: aromatherapy necklace carved mesquite and then I molded and stamped  natural earth clay that dries hard but stays semi porous. Which makes a good substrate to put a few drops of your favorite essential oil on it (not my idea just my take on it). #onetreewoodwork #aromatherapy #aromatherapyjewelry #esentialoils #woodjewlery
wordpress stats plugin

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers