One Tree Woodwork

Custom woodworking and art

Old Barns and Old Ghosts: tell stories

Before I began work this morning I decided to take a walk.

Preface: I love old buildings,I grew up in a classic old Texas farm house and for the first few years it had no A.C and was heated by wood. One of my first jobs working for my dad during summers between school included taking care of a series of 19 century buildings that created a complex complete with a barn that we turned into a theatre that the college (UT) held Shakespearean plays in all summer and was used as a teaching facility and as an example of a very rare collection of early Texas homes and barns. Many a vacation as a youth revolved around touring old homes (Colonial Williamsburg,Monticello and Arlington House) just to name a few.When I was ready to buy my first house I bought one that was built during the year that the last shot was fired during the civil war. Since that time I have restored/remodeled many old homes. There is nothing easy about old buildings they require constant love and attention and even more patience. But old buildings hold a certain Je’ ne sais quoi that can never be duplicated. No matter how talented and how much work a craftsman goes through to create age and history in wood. Nothing but time and many stories can create it. Exactly as it should be.

Old Barns are amazing and in our area of Texas they have been disappearing for the last 50 years and some well before that. As the family farm which would have been commonplace for the typical rural family of yesteryear has all but disappeared. These building stand as relics and many of them as ghost. Beautifully,slowly and sadly melting back into the earth. Many still have stories to tell. We just don’t hear them though because we have constructed a digital world that sees age as only the futures enemy.

I can’t say that I’ve always heeded the advice given to me by old buildings. But this morning as the sun rose over the red relics that stand not far from the old farm house we are restoring….well…….

I took a walk.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

IMG_2502.JPGIMG_2487.JPG

IMG_2477.JPG

IMG_2501.JPG

IMG_2490.JPG

IMG_2491.JPG

IMG_2489.JPG

IMG_2488.JPG

IMG_2493.JPG

IMG_2495.JPG

IMG_2492.JPG

IMG_2506.JPG

IMG_2498-0.JPG

5 comments on “Old Barns and Old Ghosts: tell stories

  1. Crystal Jackson
    August 13, 2014

    Great shots. I love seeing the details and especially dig the large old slabs of wood. Texas may be hot in the summertime, but it sho is pretty.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      August 13, 2014

      Thanks. Yea this time of the year it’s especially hard to find the beauty through the sweat in your eyes. But it’s there it just takes some second looks and investigation to find it and willingness for sweat to run down the crack of your …..

  2. Pingback: Old Barns and Old Ghosts: Tell Stories | The Shelter Blog

  3. marksheridan
    August 31, 2014

    Terrific photos. You live in a beautiful spot. I don’t believe that this cold-blooded Canadian could take the heat this time of year, but the scenery is sure worth seeing. By the way, in those instagram photos at the bottom of your page…definitely buy the boots.

    • TOHNER JACKSON
      August 31, 2014

      Thanks Mark. I have always thought if I was ever to become a man of means I would live in your neck of the woods during the summer and head on down south my way when the snow got to thick. Maybe I could do some sort of carpenter “exchange” program although I’m not sure what poor bastard I could convince to come down here during the never ending summers “or so it seems”.

      I am purchasing the boots as we speak I’ll buy you a pair as well ….what size would you like……………………………………

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2014 by in Homebuilding and tagged , , , .

Instagram

On the Llano River. Day 2. On the Llano. Our biannual trip to Terra Firma has begun. πŸ‘πŸŽ£πŸ›ΆπŸ›ΆπŸ₯“πŸ₯©πŸ»πŸ·πŸ₯ƒ Sunday morning was spent trying to do a hard reset on my consciousness. Be the leaf....Be the leaf.....don’t fight the current....use the current. Easier said then done. Happy Sunday friends. Not ready to let go of the weekend yet. So it begins. Another project brought to you by Artisan Builders. The Seward Plantation restoration began today. Stay tuned to @artisanbuilt and my stories here. I promise this is shaping up to be an interesting,challenging and engaging project. More to come....... Morning has broken. The desolation of my lettuce plant: cabbage loopers have descended upon my garden with great vengeance- attacking not only the lettuce but the broccoli and Brussel sprouts. Laying waste and leaving nothing but a path of destruction in their wake. Do not go gentle into that goodnight.... urban farmer turns vigilante. No looper left alive... all must parish. We must kill the entire bloodline. The very fate of our tiny garden depends on it......
wordpress stats plugin
